GREATEST EXPERIANCE : BRINGING YOUR BABY HOME

Brought my baby home, yeah!! That is why i disappeared from you my favorite readers – 3 months are passed already. Now i am back to work and all. I am posting this on March 8 – yes – because it’s woman’s day and it’s a day that concerns me as well. I am a mother and my little one is also female. So i dedicate this for this post for this day; March8, 2012 🙂

For me, i would say having a baby is/was one of the most wonderful and challenging experience ever!! I am sure i can not tell all my almost one year experience, challenges and the feelings i had with just some words but let me share with you some of them and of course if you have any questions/advice feel free to say something.

During pregnancy

Frankly, it is not that much fun. You know why? – You would hate the food you really loved. And you have to watch everything you do including the way you sleep. I was a type of person who enjoyed sleeping on my back and chest but for almost 5 months i didn’t get the chance to do so but only on my sides. Generally it is not comfortable to sleep so you would wake up two or three times in the middle of the night. The other thing that wouldn’t let you sleep is that you will have to go to toilet to pee so frequently and that you have to drink so much fluid. Generally you start living for your baby ever since he/she is conceived. You see as much it is hard for the mother it was also the same for the husband in handling things with all the hormonal and non hormonal changes. However, generally let me leave some tips and things to follow if you are pregnant or planning to have a baby :-

  • Make an appointment with a doctor when you are 9weeks pregnant and continue on seeing your practitioner every four weeks.
  • Avoid alcohol and cigarrates
  •  If your immunizations are not up to date, let your practitioner know. They will start the vaccine for tetanus
  • Drink lots of fluids, especially water (8 to 10 glasses a day).
  • Stick to a diet naturally high in folic acid (oranges, melons and dark green vegetables).
  • Eat plenty of iron rich foods(whole grains, beans, raisins and nuts).
  • Keep your blood sugar level elevated by eating lots of high-protein and high-carbohydrate foods such as breads, brown rice, potatoes and cheese.
  • Avoid medication and consult with your doctor before taking any.
  • Get plenty of sleep, and try to nap if you feel tired during the day.
  •  Exercise but moderately. Don’t start a new exercise regimen when you’re pregnant, and be careful not to become overheated for prolonged periods. For me i had follow up with Kadisco Hospital and they have regular exercises for both couple and just mothers.
  • If you’re a coffee drinker , cut back, switch to decaf or try herbal or decaffeinated tea.
  • Start budgeting for your new life with baby
  • Choose a place to give birth(hospital? birthing center? home?) so that your mind is already set and feel comfortable.
  • Consider starting a pregnancy blog or a diary and having someone take a picture of you (and your expanding belly) each month. Time passes really fast and before you know it it is over.
  • Consider refraining from getting perms and other hair treatments involving heavy chemicals.
  • Buy a few pregnancy books or go to websites like www.babycenter.com  or  www.whattoexpect.com or others and dive in.

Hospital experience

The previous night we were both very exited and very scared. And me, i was wondering about the pain, if i would have a healthy baby (one of the paranoia which is common specially if you are a medical professional) and wondering how how it would feel to hold her in my arms. You just have so many things coming to your mind. Actually ever since i started my 37 weeks of pregnancy i was very eager for the due date and got even very emotional ever since.

Unlike other Ethiopian woman going to deliver there was no one staying with me other than my husband and just parents visiting for a couple of hours during the days. However, i am glad we made that decision. For new parents like us,  it was the most important moment to be together with your own family . In my opinion it is important that no one visited at the hospital considering the facts from my experience that the mother needs to rest and needs her privacy. And, having visitors increases the chances of bringing bacteria/virus for the new born and it is emotional time for both partners due to postpartum depression which shown in studies with a prevalence rate 5% to 25% among women, but methodological differences among the studies make the actual prevalence rate unclear. Among men, in particular new fathers, the incidence of postpartum depression has been estimated to be between 1.2% and 25.5%.

I was still unconscious when the midwife was working so hard in latching my little one lying next to me and giving my lovely husband information how to do feed and change diapers. Which i think is a great job she did in starting as early as possible with breastfeeding. He was also really good with her and even thought me how to do it. Then, I struggled to wake up fast to see her and that was just the most wonderful moment for me. Just beautiful!!

Home with a baby

It’s something totally new. The first two days she slept long hrs so we both had a chance to rest. All that she used to do was nurse – burp – poop – sleep and after that she started crying is a higher pitched voice day and night and a lot. It was stressful specially for us as new parents. She was crying wanting to feed which was not being produced much and my breast was very painful. By the way for all mums out there – perfect oil for your nipple in such situations :- Calendula Oil and you can find it in any herbal shops. It helps for diper rash for your baby as well.

Then it has become easier and easier everyday. My sweet mum and mum – in – law was helping in the house and giving me so much love . Any ways, all i can say it that every time i hold her in my arms and i feel the love again and again and i ask my self if it is really possible that a human being could love this much?

Now our daughter is 3 month old and i am surprised how fast she grew up. Now less crying, lots of smiles and makes these sweet sounds, grabs my fingers when i feed her and all; JUST SO AMAZING!!

About ethiohealthcare

Ok this is me, Registered Nurse plus I'm also in Computer Science by profession and currently working on IT/eEducation at EiABC, Addis Ababa University, Ethiopia. Ok and what's my intention of blogging - there are so many things i would like to say and i also think there are so many ideas we should exchange with each other towards the healthcare/health issues in our home country Ethiopia. Dear readers, i am not really a professional writer but i just put down what i feel like sharing with you all and i believe together we can learn from each other and improve things by dealing with it..... Enjoy!! View all posts by ethiohealthcare

4 responses to “GREATEST EXPERIANCE : BRINGING YOUR BABY HOME

Leave a Reply

